|
Site Navigation Main News Forums
Games Games Database Top 100 Release List Support Files
Features Reviews Previews Interviews Editorials Diaries Misc
Download Gallery Music Screenshots Videos
Miscellaneous Staff Members Privacy Statement
|
|
|
Val
Risen From Ashes
Joined: 18 Feb 2002
Posts: 14724
Location: Utah, USA |
Troika's FAQ for common Vampire Bug Fixes |
|
This should be helpful for those of you that find bugs often.
1. How can I enable the console?
a. Right-click on the shortcut you use the launch the game
b. Select properties
c. Make sure you are on the shortcut tab
d. At the end of the target line add -console, add this outside of the quotes
e. The finished line should look like this if you have the game installed to the default directory:
"C:Program FilesActivisionVampire - Bloodlinesvampire.exe" -console
f. Hit ok, make sure you launch the game using this shortcut
2. When leaving the Society of Leopold and jumping onto the boat to escape, the game crashes to desktop. What can I do?
a. Make sure the console is enabled. (See Question #1 above)
b. Get to the boat and approach it, do not get into the boat, but get as close as you can
c. Open the console using the tilde "~" key
d. Type the following commands in:
If you saved Johansen:
SaveJohansen()
Then to level transition if you're anybody but a Nosferatu:
changelevel2 la_hub_1 taxi_landmark
And if you're a Nosferatu, instead use:
changelevel2 la_hub_1 sewer_map_landmark
e. If you get to the next level and you do not have any items in your inventory reload your previous save (make sure you have a discreet save and are not just using the autosave) and try it again, but stand closer to the boat."
3. I am a Python user and I am having compatibility problems with my vampire_python211.dll.
The workaround for the python problem is un-install your python2.1 interpreter and make sure the following registry key does not exist, manually deleting it if you must:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREPythonPythonCore2.1PythonPath
If you need python interpreter installed, please install python2.3 or 2.4rc1 as they use a different registry variable.
4. I get the following error message on launch: The procedure entry point _AIL_set_redist_directory@4 could not be located in the dynamic link library mss32.dll
An older version of mss32.dll resides in your windowssystem or windowssystem32 folder that is interfering with Vampire. If you delete this file from that folder, the game should work fine. However, whatever application was relying on older version to be there may no longer function.
5. I am having performance problems on my system. Other than options already in the game, what are some things I can try to enhance performance?
a. Before trying any of the below options, there are several audio and video enhancements options within Vampire. Note that some require you to restart your game after making the changes. If you are still unable to achieve acceptable performance after tweaking these options, then proceed to these additional possibilities.
b. It is important to have a large enough swap file. To increase the size of your swap file, here is a link:
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;314482#kb1
Note also that there is discussion about this topic at the Dilapidation forums:
http://bloodlines.dilapidation.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=21623#21623
c. It is possible that turning off your EAX (environmental audio effects) will help performance. There is a link here about this topic on the Dilapidation forums:
http://bloodlines.dilapidation.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=930&highlight=eax
d. Some users have experienced increased performance by insuring that their AGB Aperture Size is no greater that 128MB. This is most likely configured via your motherboards BIOS setup screen. Please consult your motherboard manual for information on how to adjust your AGP Aperture size.
d. Make sure to have the latest video drivers installed. For ATI cards, installing the 4.12b-Catalyst drivers has been known to help. For ATI cards, check:
http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html
...and for Nvidia cards, check:
http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp
e. Some people have reported that turning off full screen anti-aliasing and anisotropic filtering from the video card settings has enhanced performance.
f. Here are some other sites with discussions on enhancing performance:
http://www.tweakxp.com/
http://haleonline.com/comptune/ _________________ Freeeeeeedom! Thank heavens it's summer!
What do I have to show for my hard work? A piece of paper! Wee!
=Guardian, Moderator, UltimaDot Newshound= |
Mon Nov 29, 2004 7:26 pm |
|
|
the mighty stamar
High Emperor
Joined: 01 Feb 2003
Posts: 602
Location: arcata ca, humboldt county |
ok i got the console, but what im trying to figure out is how to show fps. |
Tue Nov 30, 2004 4:35 am |
|
|
Fabio
Village Dweller
Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Posts: 23
|
Not working Val. Whenever I type something in the console, submit it and then exit the game gets stuck.
This is how the directory is in the end:
"C:\Programmi\Activision\Vampire - Bloodlines\vampire.exe" -console
Should I remove the slashes. In addition whenever I start the game the console appears on my menu and has stuff written on it consisting mostly of missing files, particle, inventory problems and whatnot. Any idea on what to do? |
Tue Nov 30, 2004 7:23 am |
|
|
Fabio
Village Dweller
Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Posts: 23
|
Managed to solve everything somehow. Thankyou a thousand times Val. |
Tue Nov 30, 2004 3:19 pm |
|
|
Val
Risen From Ashes
Joined: 18 Feb 2002
Posts: 14724
Location: Utah, USA |
I guess I should have mentioned that you need to press tilde (~) to open and close the console in game.
I've been trying to figure out which command to use for finding fps as well. Here's all of the commands: http://home.earthlink.net/~verruckt/cvarlist.txt
I've experimented with several, but haven't found one that tells me the fps. I only found a way to limit fps. _________________ Freeeeeeedom! Thank heavens it's summer!
What do I have to show for my hard work? A piece of paper! Wee!
=Guardian, Moderator, UltimaDot Newshound= |
Tue Nov 30, 2004 7:58 pm |
|
|
the mighty stamar
High Emperor
Joined: 01 Feb 2003
Posts: 602
Location: arcata ca, humboldt county |
cl_showfps : 0 : , cl : Draw fps meter at top of screen
cl_showpos : 0 : , cl : Draw current position at top of screen
seems interesting too. its bugged though doesnt actually draw the screen sort of tells you where you are.
both these commands would cause crashes from the console but they work if you edit your config.cfg file
put a line anywhere that says cl_showfps "1" |
Wed Dec 01, 2004 9:33 pm |
|
|
Val
Risen From Ashes
Joined: 18 Feb 2002
Posts: 14724
Location: Utah, USA |
Ah, thanks. _________________ Freeeeeeedom! Thank heavens it's summer!
What do I have to show for my hard work? A piece of paper! Wee!
=Guardian, Moderator, UltimaDot Newshound= |
Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:18 am |
|
|
DzD
Unknown
Joined: 12 Mar 2002
Posts: 7140
Location: Sweden |
quote: Originally posted by Fabio
Managed to solve everything somehow. Thankyou a thousand times Val.
For anyone else with the same problem (I had it), when you've loaded a save and want to use the console you cannot just use the tilde key in-game. Instead, you must press esc and bring up the main menu, then press the tilde key and enter the command. Seen many people with this problem and thought that I might as well post it somewhere. _________________ There once was a youngster, DzD
Whose avatars numbered infinity
But I must admit
His latest, a hit
Cuz the Little One's a mystery to me
Written by - dteowner |
Fri Dec 03, 2004 2:03 am |
|
|
vesselle
Head Merchant
Joined: 02 Aug 2001
Posts: 70
Location: on justin's lap |
the dilapidation forums are shutting down, so those links from our vampires FAQ that you reposted may not be active very much longer.
additionally, somniferum has expanded his console CVAR list. he has formatted a separate command list.
somniferum's command list
V***V _________________ ~ wobbly are the walls of my mind ~ |
Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:34 am |
|
|
Val
Risen From Ashes
Joined: 18 Feb 2002
Posts: 14724
Location: Utah, USA |
Thanks, vesselle. _________________ Freeeeeeedom! Thank heavens it's summer!
What do I have to show for my hard work? A piece of paper! Wee!
=Guardian, Moderator, UltimaDot Newshound= |
Sun Dec 05, 2004 7:28 pm |
|
|
|
All times are GMT. The time now is Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:19 am
|
|
|
|
|
|