Morrowind v. Gothic
  View previous topic :: View next topic
RPGDot Forums > Morrowind - General

Author Thread
Pico
Village Dweller
Village Dweller

Morrowind v. Gothic

I just got done playing Gothic and absolutely LOVED it.

I’ve been a CRPG fan for many years. First with the old AD&D gold box editions way back in the day up to Baldurs Gate I & II, Pool of Radiance II, Neverwinter Nights, Icewind Dale, Arcanum, some of the Might and Magic games, and the entire Fallout line just to mention a few.

From the second I started playing Gothic to the end, I couldn’t stop playing it. I loved every bit of it. I don’t think I have ever been that rapped up and enthralled with a game as I was with that one. That includes Half-Life.

Now that I’ve beat it I’m looking for another game like it. Obviously Gothic II comes to mind. But I’m thinking about Morrowind too. It’s much more available then Gothic II and seems to be much more popular (mods, web pages dedicated to it, support…)

How does Morrowind stack up to Gothic? I’m referring more to game style then I am to interface. I.E. exploring, question, combat, things like that…

If I’m looking for a Gothic like game that will pull me in from the word, “Go,” then what game should I be thinking of. Not just Morrowind but any other game…

If I’m looking for a Gothic like game that will pull me in from the word, “Go,” then what game should I be thinking of. Not just Morrowind but any other game…

What I really liked about Gothic was its character development. I liked how combat had just as much to do with strategy and how good you where with a keyboard as it did with how good your character was. I liked how you where a pee-on and had to quest just to find a suit of armor or a weapon. I liked how levels and experience was acquired just as much by running errands as it was killing things.

How does Morrowind or even Wizardry 8 compare in these regards?
Post Wed Sep 10, 2003 5:26 am
Roqua
High Emperor
High Emperor