|
Site Navigation Main News Forums
Games Games Database Top 100 Release List Support Files
Features Reviews Previews Interviews Editorials Diaries Misc
Download Gallery Music Screenshots Videos
Miscellaneous Staff Members Privacy Statement
|
|
|
~NOBODY~
The One And Only
Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 1824
Location: Vivec, Jobasha's Rare Books |
1-How do I add armor to the tail? I tried it and created a body part for that but it didn't appear in the list of armor for biped object: tail.
2-How can I edit\add spell effects? Not the visuals & sounds, but TRUE effects/ |
Mon Nov 03, 2003 8:02 pm |
|
|
cfmdobbie
High Emperor
Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 1859
Location: London, England |
Sorry for the late response! Somehow this thread managed to slip by me.
I suspect you can't do either of these. The construction kit isn't all-powerful, it's more of a way of scripting events and tying game parts together. You can take advantage of what's been written by the developers, but you can't create anything fundamentally new yourself.
For armour to be added to the tail, there would need to be support in the system for handling the implications of an armoured tail. For example, the character's armour rating is defined as 40% of the body armour, 10% each of greaves, helm, boots and shield, and 5% for each bracer/gauntlet and pauldron. Adding tail armour into the mix would require changing those calculations for one. Pieces of armour are shaped to fit the character's body, and animated alongside it. I have no idea how much effort is required to make that work, but that'll also be something you can't affect from the construction set.
The spell-effect part is something that really does annoy me. It wouldn't have been too hard to code the effects in the built-in scripting language and allow the user access to them, but they just decided not to. Want a "summon cliffracer" spell? Tough. "Teleport other"? "Summon * on companion"? Nope.
I tried for hours to create an area-effect Divine Intervention spell (just to annoy the local priests really), but it just wasn't possible. Technically I could probably create an item that has an ability when activated that ran a number of scripts that did the same thing, but it gets very messy very quickly. It also shouldn't be necessary.
If anyone else has an idea how these can be done, please share! However, I'm afraid I don't believe either are possible. Sorry! _________________ Charlie Dobbie
=Member of The Nonflamers' Guild=
=Moderator of the Morrowind/Oblivion Forums= |
Thu Nov 06, 2003 2:17 pm |
|
|
~NOBODY~
The One And Only
Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 1824
Location: Vivec, Jobasha's Rare Books |
What a pity ... I hoped to create a shapechanging spell, by summoning armor containing the skin of the creature\character who you want to change to. But about the tail, I still think that it should be possible, because there's "Tail" in the biped objects menu(armor) in the set. Maybe it's possible to creat an armor just for the shape, not AC... |
Thu Nov 06, 2003 4:27 pm |
|
|
~NOBODY~
The One And Only
Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 1824
Location: Vivec, Jobasha's Rare Books |
Some more questionms:
1-With what do I edit NIF' & DDS's? As far as I know NIF's are edited by 3DSMax, but what about DDS's?
2-How can I put an Activator or a Static Object in a leveled list?
3-(Sorry, I'm not a scripter.) How can I make an animation for a static\ activator unanimated object? |
Sun Nov 09, 2003 8:05 am |
|
|
cfmdobbie
High Emperor
Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 1859
Location: London, England |
quote: Originally posted by ~NOBODY~
Some more questionms:
1-With what do I edit NIF' & DDS's? As far as I know NIF's are edited by 3DSMax, but what about DDS's?
Hrm. I believe NIF is a NetImmerse model format, and yes I believe there a 3DSMax plugin to import/export it. The plugin should be freely available, and 3DSMax can be got for a 30 day trial.
Google tells me DDS is an UnrealEd texture format, and there is an inport plugin for 3DSMax available. I wouldn't know how to create them, but that shouldn't be too hard to find out.
quote:
2-How can I put an Activator or a Static Object in a leveled list?
Don't think that's possible, I'm afraid. Items, weapons, armour and creatures can be levelled. I don't know of any way to level anything else, although you could have the same effect using scripting to enable/disable different statics on level changes.
quote:
3-(Sorry, I'm not a scripter.) How can I make an animation for a static\ activator unanimated object?
Don't think I've ever tried to do that, sorry! _________________ Charlie Dobbie
=Member of The Nonflamers' Guild=
=Moderator of the Morrowind/Oblivion Forums= |
Sun Nov 09, 2003 11:01 am |
|
|
~NOBODY~
The One And Only
Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 1824
Location: Vivec, Jobasha's Rare Books |
Thnax! But:
1- I can't download a 75MB file.
2- Where can I get a tutorial about dialogs? I'm doing a lot of dialogs as you know, but I can't find some "if"s, like "if a character is both a member in the thieves' guild and th Nerevarine, the NPC will say "....."".
3-Where can I find some scripting tutorials? |
Mon Nov 10, 2003 1:08 pm |
|
|
~NOBODY~
The One And Only
Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 1824
Location: Vivec, Jobasha's Rare Books |
(Sorry for the Double post.)
Can you PLEASE say what's wrong with this script:
Begin max_police_bracer_script
Short OnPCEquip
If ( OnPCEquip == 1 )
RemoveItem "max_police_bracer" 1
Set OnPCEquip == 0
EndIf
End max_police_bracer_script
In TESCS it told me to add "to" so it would be:
Begin max_police_bracer_script
Short OnPCEquip
If ( OnPCEquip == 1 )
RemoveItem "max_police_bracer" 1
Set OnPCEquip To == 0
EndIf
End max_police_bracer_script
And in a "Morrowind Script Editor", it told me that this script is "not implemented", so what's the problem & how to solve it?
Edit: Also:
1-When I tried it in Morrowind, it just crashed to the desktop after I equiped the bracer.
2-Ther're "tab"s in the lines under "If", but they somehow don't show here. |
Tue Nov 11, 2003 7:57 pm |
|
|
cfmdobbie
High Emperor
Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 1859
Location: London, England |
I haven't done any plugin development recently, but == is usually an equality testing operator, not an assignment operator. When TESCS told you to use "to", it was saying that at that point it was expecting the word "to", not what it found ("=="). So, change the assignment to "Set OnPCEquip To 0" and it should work.
Searching Google for [url=http://www.google.com/search?q=morrowind+%22set+*+to+0%22+%22if+*+%3D%3D+1%22]morrowind "set * to 0" "if * == 1"[/url] turns up quite a few snippets of code that you should be able to draw on. _________________ Charlie Dobbie
=Member of The Nonflamers' Guild=
=Moderator of the Morrowind/Oblivion Forums= |
Wed Nov 12, 2003 12:59 pm |
|
|
~NOBODY~
The One And Only
Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 1824
Location: Vivec, Jobasha's Rare Books |
Thanx! |
Wed Nov 12, 2003 1:02 pm |
|
|
~NOBODY~
The One And Only
Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 1824
Location: Vivec, Jobasha's Rare Books |
Sorry for the double post again.
But how can I make the player pay something? |
Fri Nov 14, 2003 8:53 pm |
|
|
cfmdobbie
High Emperor
Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 1859
Location: London, England |
quote: Originally posted by ~NOBODY~
But how can I make the player pay something?
Try this:
Player->RemoveItem "Gold_001" 50 _________________ Charlie Dobbie
=Member of The Nonflamers' Guild=
=Moderator of the Morrowind/Oblivion Forums= |
Sat Nov 15, 2003 11:40 am |
|
|
~NOBODY~
The One And Only
Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 1824
Location: Vivec, Jobasha's Rare Books |
quote: Originally posted by cfmdobbie
quote: Originally posted by ~NOBODY~
But how can I make the player pay something?
Try this:
Player->RemoveItem "Gold_001" 50
By now I know it. I typed that at first, but when I tested, nothing happened, so I posted this. Then I found out that I didn't write Player-> and understood that this command means that the gold (if any) will be just removed from an NPC inventory. Thanx anyway!
Please, tell me what's wrong with these scripts1 The first one does nothing, and the second one displays 2 errors when I enter the cell:
1-Script Error: Expression in max_police_quest_01[]
2-left Eval!
And still does nothing. What to do?
begin max_police_quest_01
Short DoOnce
Short max_police_quest_01_global
If ( GetJournalIndex max_police_quest_01 == 10 )
Enable
StartCombat Player
Else
Disable
EndIf
If ( OnDeath == 1 )
If ( DoOnce == 0 )
max_police_daedra_01->Activate
Journal max_police_quest_01, 30
Set DoOnce to 0
EndIf
EndIf
If ( GetDistance Player <= 256 )
If ( max_police_quest_01_global == 0 )
Journal max_police_quest_01, 20
Set max_police_quest_01_global to 1
EndIf
EndIf
End
begin max_police_quest_01
If ( GetJournalIndex max_police_quest_01 == 10 )
If ( GetDistance Player <= 128 )
Journal max_police_quest_01, 20
If ( OnDeath == 1 )
max_police_daedra_01->Activate
Journal max_police_quest_01, 30
max_police_daedra_02->Activate
else
max_police_daedra_01->Disable
max_police_daedra_02->Disable
EndIf
EndIf
Enable
Else
Disable
EndIf
End
Thanx in Advance. |
Sat Nov 15, 2003 6:16 pm |
|
|
~NOBODY~
The One And Only
Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 1824
Location: Vivec, Jobasha's Rare Books |
Heeeey!!! Cfm!!! Anyone!!!(delete this, just answer, please!) |
Sun Nov 16, 2003 8:40 pm |
|
|
cfmdobbie
High Emperor
Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 1859
Location: London, England |
I'm afraid I don't know off-hand what your problems are, but it sounds like you're not putting statements together properly. I suggest finding a number of example scripts and locating lines similar to the ones you've got, and compare them to see if you've got all the punctuation etc you need - are there any missing commas, brackets etc?
Nothing really jumps out at me, but a few lines could do with a double-check, for example the following:
If ( GetJournalIndex max_police_quest_01 == 10 )
Is that line working properly? Are you sure the GetJournalIndex method is only operating on the first argument, or is the scripting engine trying to parse == as a second argument?
It's something small like that which will be causing you grief. Good luck! _________________ Charlie Dobbie
=Member of The Nonflamers' Guild=
=Moderator of the Morrowind/Oblivion Forums= |
Mon Nov 17, 2003 2:21 am |
|
|
|
All times are GMT. The time now is Sat Apr 13, 2019 8:18 pm
|
|
|
|
|
|