buy new Gfx card advice
  View previous topic :: View next topic
RPGDot Forums > Absolutely Off Topic

Author Thread
Roqua
High Emperor
High Emperor

buy new Gfx card advice

I am going to get a new gfx card soon because now I can't play games without a device failure error or locking up.

I can't spend more than $150. The card I have now is a gforce4 ti 4200 8x agp, 128 mb. I noticed that even though I got it for $110 a year ago, it is selling for about $140 now. But gforce fx5600 are selling for cheaper, why is that?

And I read that ati cards are a lot better than the nvidias now because of hl2 and shaders and 24-bit or some crap. But I have no experience at all with ati cards.

Whats the most stable card that costs around $150 that will last me the longest with no problems. I probably will never use TV-out or any video editing options. My mother board only goes upto agp 4x. And all I need my graphics card for is playing games only.

I like to do the research myself but gfx cards seem to have gotten pretty technical, One site had cards selling for 1.5-2 thousand dollars. That is insane. Anyway one will say gforce fx5600 (blah blah blah) $90-$140. The next will say gforce fx5600 (different blah blah blah) $190-$240. I have no idea why and the blah blah blah makes no sense to me.

Any advice, opinions, or input will be greatly appretiated. Thanks for your help, since I'm technically dumb and definitly need it.
Post Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:34 am
Dhruin
Stranger In A Strange Land

I can't help as much as I'd like because the prices and brands are so different here but here's some broad comments...

The 5600 is the direct replacement for your old Ti 4200. The problem is that nVidia were as much interested in reducing the manufacturing costs as improving the model when they designed it. The result is that while it has some new features over your Ti 4200 (DX9 shaders), it's mostly slower than your old card - which makes it hard to recommend. The 5600 Ultra is better.