Screenshots
   Videos

Miscellaneous
   Staff Members
   Privacy Statement

FAQ
Members
Usergroups
Fable: The Lost Chapters (PC, Single-Player RPG)
  View previous topic :: View next topic
RPGDot Forums > Games Comments

Author Thread
DAJUIL

Fable

the most asomest game in the universe

:lo:

Spoiler:

Post Sat Apr 15, 2006 11:33 pm

ToddMcF2002
Leader of the Senate
Leader of the Senate

So I finally got around to trying this game. Wasnt expecting much. You know what? Its got alot going for it.

CONS:
- Too linear
- Horrible Console Save System
- Really a half RPG action title
- Reeks of consolitis in many aspects

PROS:
- Excellent production values. Art, music - feels like a "Fable". Well done.
- Hilarious game. Really. Some great NPC lines like when a bandit guarding a door tells me "You can't be serious. I'm no expert at infiltration but don't you think you ought to at least give it some effort and dress like a bandit?" There is lots of that kind of stuff on quest and its pretty damn funny.
- Fun combat. I can pop off heads all day long with my bow. It never gets old. Pretty decent melee and very frantic.
- Imaginative quests. They are just alot of fun. I've had two puzzles so far that were actually pretty damn hard!
- The interface is very slick despite it contributing to the "non immersive" RPG linearity. The quest cards, mapping radar all that stuff. Once you get over it not being a serious RPG, the streamlined interface keeps the game going and its just "fun". Teleporting, quest cards and radar map really work here.
- The evil vs. good thing is fun to mess around with. NPC reactions are like a mini game and its pretty interesting.
- Fun graphics. Great to look at. Sure its consolish but on the PC its damn pretty.
- Totally (and I mean totally) bug free. At least so far.

Conclusion: