Fee for games
  View previous topic :: View next topic
RPGDot Forums > MMORPGs General

Author Thread
Bytespawn
Tempered Warlord
Tempered Warlord

Fee for games

I am quite new to the mmorpg genre, so excuse me if i say any dumph things. But is it really normal that playing a Mmorpg like everquest for 1 year costs 200 dollars? I heard its about 50 dollars for the game and then 12-16 dollars per month. If this is normal, i am only glad that there are games like Guild Wars, and Beta-tests. But with such a fee, how on earth do those devs get players below 21 years?? I am asking if there are any other games like guildwars, with no monthly fee, and please, dont come of with anything like Runescape... Also what is Eversummer?
Post Tue Jul 27, 2004 4:01 pm
Ekim
Eagle's Shadow
Eagle's Shadow

The simplest answer to your question, whether it is "normal" that an mmorpg charges a monthly fee is yes. It's normal, and it's here to stay.

Mmorpgs cost a lot of money to maintain: the infrastructure, the servers, the development team that continuously stay with the game for years... This cost has to be offset by some payment of some kind by the players.

Now, is $12 to $16 too much is another rather good question though. It might be for some games, and the answer depends on how deep is your wallet. I tend to think that the price inflation of the mmorpg that come into the market since the last year are a bit high.