Screenshots
   Videos

Miscellaneous
   Staff Members
   Privacy Statement

FAQ
Members
Usergroups
Are Sony and lucasart pushing consumers too far?
  View previous topic :: View next topic
RPGDot Forums > MMORPGs General

Author Thread
damienvryce
Village Dweller
Village Dweller

Are Sony and lucasart pushing consumers too far?

Hi everyone,

I've been visiting RPGdot now everyday for over 2 years, but it's my first post in the forums here. I've been an avid fan of RPG's all my life. When this whole MMORPG online revolution started, I was very excited. The first RPG I've ever played was UO, which I started playing 9 months after launch. I've had a blast playing UO, and met a lot of people online playing the game. I stopped playing and lost interest when origin split the world in two (Felluca and Trammel). Next games I tried where AO (from day one, with all the horror stories you've heard from the games launch). Ao is a good game, and I m sure, got better with time. But I had trouble finding a 'niche' in the game, and other roleplayers to play with. But the game was good even from the start. DAOC was another matter, the game had a stable launch but it never hooked me. I played for 2 months and got bored. I then tooka break from MMORPG's before playing AC2 (like AO, from launch day). AC2 is an excellent game and was very stable from the start. It was probably the best launch ever for a MMORPG game. I like this game a lot but only played for 2 months. The reason for that is that the servers were mostly empty (even on Frostfell at peak hours), and most of the time, I had the impression I was playing an MMORPG single player
So I cancelled my subscription and decided to wait few months or a year and then maybe try again. Now that they turbine is merging servers in AC2, I might try again soon...