|
Site Navigation Main News Forums
Games Games Database Top 100 Release List Support Files
Features Reviews Previews Interviews Editorials Diaries Misc
Download Gallery Music Screenshots Videos
Miscellaneous Staff Members Privacy Statement
|
|
|
Xiron Darkheart
Village Dweller
Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 13
Location: Vermont |
This is how I deal with the memory leak. This is lots better than rebooting every half hour or so.
Get Cacheman 5.1.
When you start to feel the effects of the memory leak, alt-tab out.
Run Cacheman , recover memory now, close Cacheman(important note, do not leave Cacheman running in the background , causes my system to lock up solid, requiring improper shut-down)
Alt-tab back in, keep playing another 30-45 mins before needing it again
Repeat as needed
I hope this helps some of you deal with this memory leak until it gets patched. _________________ >>>Kill 'em all , let the gods sort 'em out!<<< |
Fri May 17, 2002 11:40 pm |
|
|
Hyperion
Keeper of the Gates
Joined: 07 May 2002
Posts: 122
|
quote: Originally posted by SuperCowMan24
hmmmm... im confused could you explain it to me simplerly?
That fact that you said "simplerly" makes me wonder how simple I need to get j/k
I'm trying to think of a good anology, and this is the best I can think of:
Suppose you have a cup with 10 marbles in it. You're task is to pickup a single marble, look at it, and place it back into the cup. That's all you have to do.
Let's define three terms:
1) Allocate - the act of picking upa marble.
2) Free - the act of placing a marble back into the cup.
3) Pool - The cup.
So, the ideal scenario would be the following:
1) Allocate a single marble from the Pool.
2) Look at it.
3) Free the marble.
But instead you do this:
1) Allocate a single marble from the Pool.
2) Look at it.
3) Drop the marble onto the ground.
What happens after you repeat the above scenario too many time? You run out of marbles and can no longer perform your task.
In computer land, we use memory instead of marbles. |
Fri May 17, 2002 11:50 pm |
|
|
Hyperion
Keeper of the Gates
Joined: 07 May 2002
Posts: 122
|
quote: Originally posted by Xiron Darkheart
This is how I deal with the memory leak. This is lots better than rebooting every half hour or so.
Get Cacheman 5.1.
When you start to feel the effects of the memory leak, alt-tab out.
Run Cacheman , recover memory now, close Cacheman(important note, do not leave Cacheman running in the background , causes my system to lock up solid, requiring improper shut-down)
Alt-tab back in, keep playing another 30-45 mins before needing it again
Repeat as needed
I hope this helps some of you deal with this memory leak until it gets patched.
Doing that can make things worse. By using a 3rd party app to de-allocate MW's memory, MW no longer has the guarantee that when it asks for memory, it is not going to get a memory block that it hasn't already used and is expecting to be allocated. That leaves the possiblity open that when the next time it writes to memory it will overwrite a memory address it is still using in another area of the game. |
Fri May 17, 2002 11:57 pm |
|
|
qwert_44643
Head Merchant
Joined: 11 Jan 2002
Posts: 53
|
Hey Guys,
I wanted to say thank you all for the amount of info here...so it almost seems when you system starts to bog down the best solution is to do a reboot.
qwert |
Sat May 18, 2002 12:13 am |
|
|
EverythingXen
Arch-villain
Joined: 01 Feb 2002
Posts: 4342
|
Yup. It's a computer game baby!
Everyone! (to the tune of 'if you're happy and you know it...')
"If you're crashing and you know it please reboot.
If you're crashing and you know it please reboot.
If you're crashing and you know it
and you're just about to blow it
If you're crashing and you know it please reboot.
If rebooting doesn't help reinstall
If rebooting doesn't help reinstall
If rebooting doesn't fix it
and you're just about to nix it
If rebooting doesn't help reinstall
If reinstalling doesn't fix it get the patch
If reinstalling doesn't fix it get the patch
If reinstalling doesn't fly
and the comps about to fry
If reinstalling doesn't fix it get the patch
If the patch isn't out whine and moan
If the patch isn't out whine and moan
If you're waiting for the patch
and wondering what's the catch
If the patch isn't out whine and moan"
Ah.... modern computer games. God bless them, each and every one. Yes, I am a cynical bastard of a computer technician. _________________ Estuans interius, Ira vehementi
"The old world dies and with it the old ways. We will rebuild it as it should be, MUST be... Immortal!"
=Member of the Nonflamers Guild=
=Worshipper of the Written Word= |
Sat May 18, 2002 4:41 pm |
|
|
Val
Risen From Ashes
Joined: 18 Feb 2002
Posts: 14724
Location: Utah, USA |
Now that's a song I'm going to remember! _________________ Freeeeeeedom! Thank heavens it's summer!
What do I have to show for my hard work? A piece of paper! Wee!
=Guardian, Moderator, UltimaDot Newshound= |
Sat May 18, 2002 4:47 pm |
|
|
Squeetard
Head Merchant
Joined: 05 May 2002
Posts: 61
|
Lol, computer nerds are incapable of explaining anything simply.
My turn to try:
Okay, a train leaves Pittsburg for Philly, lets call this train CD00078Eh...
Kidding ha!
Try this:
Morrowind keeps using more and more of your memory until you run out.
Duh.
/runs away singing the crash tune. |
Sat May 18, 2002 5:24 pm |
|
|
Jaz
Late Night Spook
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 9708
Location: RPGDot |
...just like Corel Draw. _________________ Jaz |
Sat May 18, 2002 5:31 pm |
|
|
Squeetard
Head Merchant
Joined: 05 May 2002
Posts: 61
|
Now that you grasp that, here is the cause:
Sloppy programing that either:
A) Fails to mark memory it no longer needs as free to be used again.
or
B) Does not bother to look for freed memory, just grabs more new when it needs it.
/Bows
Simperly enough for ya? |
Sat May 18, 2002 5:34 pm |
|
|
bman
Guest
|
Good explanation above... but even simpler a memory leak is when a program wastes memory. |
Sat May 18, 2002 6:41 pm |
|
|
Squeetard
Head Merchant
Joined: 05 May 2002
Posts: 61
|
program wastes memory = 3 words
Try this 2 word description of the problem:
Bill Gates |
Sat May 18, 2002 8:03 pm |
|
|
Guest
|
There are two types of memory leaks. One was explained before where program(in its own address space) just asks for more memory without releasing it to the operating system. The other type is when asking for system resource memory(memory shared by all programs running, like device contexts, etc.). Asking for system resource memory without releasing it to the os will cause system crash i.e. other apps won't be able to allocate memory to run. I think font system in dx8 is based on system wide resource as well as other things. Win9x has limited number of these resources. |
Tue May 21, 2002 8:34 am |
|
|
freakinaye
High Emperor
Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 542
Location: Oahu, Hawaii |
Just change the resolution everytime your systems starts to lag real bad. I usually play on teh 1024 res but when it lags I just go to the one less and then back again. It will work every time. You don't have to bother rebooting and only takes a minute. |
Tue May 21, 2002 2:11 pm |
|
|
|
Goto page Previous 1, 2
All times are GMT. The time now is Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:42 pm
|
|
|
|
|
|